Introduction

Hello, I’m John Moore and hopefully I can write something here that allows me to chronicle my growth as a person, as a Chaplain, and as a Latter-day Saint. 

A little bit about me. I am originally from Cedar Point, North Carolina and I moved away from there in 2003 to attend school at North Carolina State University in Raleigh. After I graduated, I got a job as a golf instructor near Pinehurst, North Carolina and worked in that capacity until mid-2009. After that, I joined the Coast Guard and have been in four years now. I have recently felt inspired to start divinity school with the intention of being an LDS Chaplain in the US Navy or Army. I attend United Theological Seminary in a distance education program. I figure I am now at the very beginning of my spiritual journey and growth. I hope to post here regularly about my personal growth and how I feel like I am becoming a better person.

A primary reason for doing this is to keep track and publish my experiences as I celebrate Easter this year. Now, for a great many Latter-day Saints, Easter is simply an Easter Sunday affair. Not this year for me. I am intending to celebrate all of Easter, all the way from Ash Wednesday, through Fasting for Lent, to Holy Week and the Seven Churches Visitation, Easter Sunday, onto seven Sundays of Easter, the Feast of the Ascension, and finally ending with Pentecost. I hope this journey through the Easter season will be a time time for great spiritual growth.

Enjoy everyone.

Leave a Reply

