Running Journal 1/3/15 to 1/10/15

So this was a race week, so I ran less than I normally do, taking some rest days in order to be fairly well rested for the Joe Kleinerman 10k in Central Park.

Sunday: 10x400m interval workout with 400m between two sets of five and a 800m hard run at the end. One mile warm up and cool down. 7 miles total

Monday: 2 mile slow shakeout run to loosen up from Sunday

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: 3/4 mile warm-up, 1 mile tempo , 3/4 mile cool down. The air temp was 8 or 10 degrees when I started this run with wind chills around -8 degrees. I had a cover over my face which restricted my breathing and that caused the tempo run to not be as fast as I intended. I wanted 8 mins 30 seconds per mile, got right at 9 mins per mile. Given the forecasted weather for the race on Saturday, the experience with the face cover and breathing was valuable. 2.5 miles total

Thursday: Rest

Friday: Rest, I considered going for a shake-out run, but figured that I’d be just as well off resting.

Saturday: Joe Kleinerman 10k. Air temp at the start was around 12 degrees, wind chill down around zero. Coming from the South, I’m not prepared for running in cold like this as far as clothing. Very cold prior to the start. I started out at what felt like a good pace, I figured I was a little over 10 mins per mile. At the 1/4 mile mark, my RunKeeper app told me I was at about 9:25 per mile. Since this felt good, I just kept that pace. Big hill in the first mile slowed me down, but I ended up being able to keep my pace quite well. I wanted to go a little faster in the last mile than my previous pace, which technically I did, but when I tried to pick up the pace and go I just had nothing. It felt like I was running with a parachute strapped to my back. However, I ran with a 9:30 pace for most of the race and I felt like I could have kept that pace up for quite a while. I just couldn’t push any faster. Splits: 9:48; 9:34; 8:59; 9:18; 9:39; 9:14  6.2 miles total

This coming week starts my training for the Brooklyn Half Marathon on May 16. It will start off kind of slow then work into some heavier stuff.
 

 

 

Leave a Reply

