Reblog: Divinity School Will Ruin Your Life

Divinity School Will Ruin Your Life.

Read the whole article, it’s really good.

There were a few bits of information in this article that I found really useful.

“A dear friend of mine once commented how hard it is for someone with a Master of Divinity to go to church (or watch a movie or listen to the radio or do just about anything).” Yes. I find it very difficult to go to church often. I’ve written about that before. It’s good to read that I’m not alone. Going to church is often difficult when I’ve seen things that I consider to be better and then I have no ability to effect change. Yes, that’s right, I said I have no ability to effect change. Sadly, I honestly believe that. I’d like for someone to change my mind. I suppose I have very small ability to effect change, so perhaps not “no” ability. Either way, I think you get the point.

“Divinity school necessarily ruins the lives of its students. The question then for divinity school students ought not be how to avoid the deconstructive work that takes place during their three years of graduate school. Instead, they must pay attention not only to what is being taught, but also to the way in which it is taught that they too might facilitate the conscientization of those to and with whom they will minister.” Integration. That’s what divinity school is about. It’s about having various ideas thrown at you that shake your spiritual foundations and cause tremendous growth. Without teaching things that shake the foundations a bit, we are unable to grow. Something that just came to mind is the building of a house. Houses have foundations. But those foundations are not simply laid down on top of the unbroken ground. The builder has to dig up the ground, either for concrete footers, or to level the ground for a concrete slab, or to install pilings. But the original ground has to be broken in order to have the foundation put in place. This is what happens to us in divinity school. Professors grab the proverbial shovel and dig up our bare ground in order to build the foundation. I think we leave Div school with only the foundation. Once we are done, we can get to the real task of building the rest of the house. But we have to have that foundation in place.

Leave a Reply

