Daily Fast Write 3/12/15

“Does God change?” Interesting question. Some would say no, some would say yes, some would say kind of. I’m not sure if I fall in the “yes” or the “kind of” category. Actually, I’m not even sure if I don’t fall into the “no” category. Strange. But what do I think about this? I mean, if we say that God is the Father, then might it not make sense that the was He tells us things can change in the same way that we change with our kids? I mean, I think I’d probably let Trey run our the door and downstairs to the playground behind our apartment without me coming with him. Maybe. But I certainly wouldn’t let McCoy do that. Trey I feel like would go down the stairs, turn left, go a little farther, turn left again, and find his way to the playground. McCoy, I have no idea where he’d go. So I wouldn’t let him out the door. But does this mean that my loving and protective nature has changed? Certainly not. It’s just that the capability of the kids to understand something has changed. Is God like this? I mean, could God have told the Israelites something 4000 years ago, then changed it through Jesus 2000 years ago, and be prepared to change it again today because we became more intelligent and able to understand things over the years? I guess I don’t see why not. Indeed, if we say that God can’t change and that “the word of God cannot change” (I literally typed that in Eld. Oaks’ voice) then doesn’t that make God not all-powerful? Hmm…that’s an interesting thought. So what does this mean?I don’t know. I mean, like I said a week or so ago, I’m not even sure what I think about the nature of God anyway. Can the Spirit speak to us and allow the interpretation of the Word to change? I guess to say no would be to imply that God can’t do something, but if God’s all-powerful, then that can’t be the case, can it? So can God change? That’s a pretty deep question. I don’t have the answer to it and that’s one thing that I do know.

Leave a Reply

