Psalms and Proverbs Reading Day 1

The readings for today are Psalms 1 through 8, Psalm 151, and Proverb 1. Psalm 151 is posted below. Study questions follow after the text of Psalm 151.

This psalm is ascribed to David as his own composition (though it is outside the number[a]), after he had fought in single combat with Goliath.
1 I was small among my brothers, and youngest in my father’s house; I tended my father’s sheep.
2 My hands made a harp, my fingers fashioned a lyre.
3 And who will declare it to my Lord? The Lord himself; it is he who hears.[b]
4 It was he who sent his messenger[c] and took me from my father’s sheep, and anointed me with his anointing oil.
5 My brothers were handsome and tall, but the Lord was not pleased with them.
6 I went out to meet the Philistine,[d] and he cursed me by his idols.
7 But I drew his own sword; I beheaded him, and removed reproach from the people of Israel.

a. Psalm 151 1:1 Other authorities add of the one hundred fifty (psalms)
b. Psalm 151 1:3 Some witnesses add everything; others add me; others read who will hear me
c. Psalm 151 1:4 Or angel
d. Psalm 151 1:6 Or foreigner

Study Questions:
Psalm 1: “Trees planted by streams of water.” The ground near streams is soft and constantly changing. What does the tree need in order to remain in place? Think about the Bald Cypress tree.

Psalm 2: Verses 11-12, how does this fit into our modern view of God?

Psalm 3: Verse 4: What happens when God doesn’t answer…or when we think God doesn’t answer?

Psalm 4: Verses 1-2: Do you think this is a result of not hearing an answer? How do we read this in light of the previous Psalm?

Psalm 5: Verse 12: “You cover them with favor.” How can you talk about this to a congregation without slipping into Prosperity Gospel?

Psalm 6: Verses 1-3, a friend from Seminary said that sometimes we get a “whooping from God.” We see that here in these verses. Do you think struggles are given to us from God as a result of misdeeds? Do they come from God at all?

Psalm 7: Think of this Psalm in regards to some of our Christian brothers and sisters in the Middle East.

Psalm 8: This Psalm seems to reference back to the Creation. If we’ve been given this creation from God to shepherd, how should we treat it?

Psalm 151: The heading says that this Psalm came as a result of the fight with Goliath. Do the people who God call to do various tasks always “look” like the person we’d expect to get the call?

Proverb 1: Verses 10-19 talk about choosing people to follow. How influential can friends be on others? How important is it to choose friends who will support, but not enable, us?

Leave a Reply

